David and Lorraine Cheng Library Feedback

Comments and discussion about the Library

Alumni Library Access From Home

Posted by chenglibrary on June 23, 2010

Author : Janice Petrocco
Comment:  I must compliment the Cheng library. During my years as a graduate student I spent many hours in the library, and I was always able to accomplish a significant amount of work during each visit. I greatly appreciated being able to access the library online from  my home and work place as well. The WPU library is a superb university library. As an alumni I continue to use the library. I understand the large cut-backs in funding may be the reason alumni do not receive free web and printing privileges. It is simple enough to email articles and information from data bases, or transfer the information to a memory stick for printing at home.  However, for those of us who continue our research and writing, might an alumni library fee be appropriate? I would certainly be willing to pay a fee that would grant similar privileges as when I was a graduate student.  Possibly it could be an optional fee one pays when joining the alumni association.  Just an idea. Thanks again for getting me through all of my research, papers and my thesis!

RESPONSE:

Dear Ms Petrocco:

Thank you for your suggestion  of extending Library privileges to alumni, perhaps financed by an alumni library fee.  As usual with these things, the devil is in the detail with regard to how services might be extended.  We only charge alumni for printing, not for access to the web via the library computers.  However, alumni access to our databases from home is significantly more expensive and more complicated, since our licenses with the vendors prohibit such access unless additional fees are paid. I invite you to contact me directly if you would like to discuss this further or if you have specific research needs that we might be able to accommodate.

Thanks again for your compliments about our services and feel free to send me an email.

Best regards,

Anne Ciliberti, Library Director

Leave a Reply

 
